RSS

Integrity!

10 Jan

Who was the Father of Medicine? What did he have to say about the use of drugs? Among the Greeks around 400 B.C. there lived a man who was convinced that the body had a built-in wish to be well. His name was Hippocrates, the Father of Medicine.

“A strong case could be made for the fact that he was by all contempo­rary standards, a drugless practitioner. The remedies he prescribed were preparations concocted from vegetables, spices, oils and herbs. Among his “folk medicine” cures were gargles, inhalants, and various brews of grain, moderate and effective, especially when administered with traditional Hippocratic faith in the body’s compulsive wish to be well.” Marcus Bach – The Chiropractic Story

Hippocrates also reminded his students that,

“Where there is love of man, there is also a love of healing.”

History says he was the greatest Greek physician that ever lived, and “physician” was by no means confined only to medicine. The word had its root in physis which meant nature and implied a thorough knowledge of the development and growth of things, especially as these related to the health and wholeness of the life of man.

Hippocrates wrote an Oath of Integrity for physicians, a code of standards and ideals to which they must swear to adhere in the practice of their pro­fession. This Oath could be adopted by Chiropractors who see in it, the truth of how to practice. Here it is in its entirety:

“I do solemnly swear by that which I hold most sacred:

That I will be loyal to the profession of medicine and just and generous to its members;

That I will lead my life and practice my art in uprightness and honor; That into whatsoever house I shall enter, it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of my power, I holding myself aloof from wrong, from corruption, and from the temptation of others to vice;

That I will exercise my art solely for the cure of my patients, and will give no drug, perform no operation for a criminal purpose, even if solicited, far less suggest it;

That whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of men which is not fitting to be spoken, I will keep inviolably secret.

These things I do promise, and in proportion as I am faithful to this my oath may happiness and good repute be ever mine – the opposite if I shall forsworn.”

Integrity by definition is: “strict adherence to a code of moral values, artistic principles, or other standards; complete sincerity or honesty.”

Would the integrity of man play a more important role in his life if he truly knew he was immortal? That what he did today had an affect on him tomorrow. Three-quarters of the population of earth believes that man is spiritual in nature and that he will live on after the death of the matter that he inhabits.

Galileo was born the day that Michelangeo died; the year of his death was the year that Sir Isaac Newton, the discoverer of the law of gravitation, was born.

Paul Turnbull

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
