RSS

The Story of D.D. Palmer

30 Jul
photos-of-bj_page_02_image_0003Two years ago I was visiting my close friends Drs. Jane and Harvey Fish in Marietta, Georgia. It was September 17th and Dr. Harvey asked me if I was going to do anything for Chiropractic week that started the next day. I hadn’t given it a thought up to that point but overnight while I slept the Story of D.D. Palmer formulated in my mind. You know how that works, you set a task for your mind and then forget about it and a few days later the solution pops into your head and you either do something with it or you ignore it and it is lost forever.

I decided to do something and it possessed me to the point that I might have annoyed my hosts. However, Dr. Jane sat down with paper and pen on the deck and I dictated the story practically verbatim from all my studies and talks on the History of Chiropractic and having read some of the Green Books. All we had to do was correct a few grammatical errors and it was a finished product.

During this same visit, Dr. Harvey gave me a collection of pristine copies of Chiropractic philosophy books and a small heavy box, packaged in original postage from around 1920. He told me I could do whatever I wished with these antiquities. That day I headed out to spend a few days with my family in Asheville, N.C.

Chiropractic week started September 18th and my brother-in-law and I decided to take a drive for what we thought was an uneventful cruise through the mountains. But this was not to be the case! While driving another idea formulated in my head, “Why don’t you go to Sherman College of Chiropractic and donate these materials to the museum so that all Chiropractors could benefit from this treasure trove of gifted information.” We headed out as we were within a hundred miles.

I gave the books to Dr. Hart and he was thoroughly thankful. I handed him the packaged postmarked box and was about to leave when my brother-in-law stopped me saying, “You have to open that box or it’s going to drive you nuts wondering what’s in there.”

Dr. Hart took a scalpel and surgically opened the box and inside was a stainless steel replica of the Palmer School of Chiropractic. Apparently B.J. Palmer had these crafted into a bank with a slot in the top so that alumni could donate to the school by placing money in the bank and sending it back to the school. It was absolutely untouched, in the original packaging, still shiny and the quality of craftsmanship was outstanding.

It is now on display in the museum at the Sherman School of Chiropractic along with the gifted books from Drs. Harvey and Jane Fish.

The moral of this story is to pose a problem to your mind and then paying attention to the answer when it arrives, noting it down and doing something with it. B.J. Palmer used to have a notebook and pen by his bed so that if he woke up at anytime with an answer formulated in his mind he could write it down and not lose it. He had an electric typewriter constructed that held a continuous role of paper and during the day he would simply type out his “thots” in individual paragraphs and his secretary would cut the paragraphs out and stick them onto 8 1/2 by 11 sheets and place them by his typewriter. Then he would come back to them later, sometimes even days later, read them again and more data with flow and he would type those up and the process would begin again. This is how he wrote all the books he did.

So it worked for B.J. and it has happened to others and I woke up this morning with the start of this article firmly fixed in my mind. I didn’t know where it was going but I just started typing. It could happen to you. Pose the problem, e.g. “What should I say in my Weight Loss Workshop coming up?” And if you listen the answer with come out sooner or later. When it does, listen and start writing until you can’t write anymore, leave it and come back later. Don’t toil at it. You’ll have a finished workshop before you know it.

Contact me at purposeconsultant@gmail.com if you want me to send you a copy of “The Story of D.D. Palmer.” If you wish to speak to me directly and pose a problem for me to help you with, then call 727-445-7842 and I will do my best to solve that practice problem.

Paul Turnbull

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
