RSS

Caffeine does it pick you up or tear you down?

28 Jul

I had an addiction to coffee. I would get up in the morning and have a large cup. Then I would drink another one when I got to work, another at break, one or two at lunch, one at afternoon break, one for the ride home and then I always had a coffee with dinner and then a final one before I went to bed.

So how many cups a day was I drinking? Minimally 9 – 10 cups a day or 80 to 100 ounces and that was before Starbucks and the supersized double triple capacino with cream and sugar.

I was a physical wreck, overweight, exhausted and I didn’t sleep well at night and therefore didn’t recharge for the next day. I was hooked on the strongest coffee I could find.

Several times I decided to quit coffee cold turkey and I almost ended up on a stretcher on my way to the hospital. I’d get migraine headaches to start, the shakes, I’d feel sick to my stomach and I would crave coffee! But if I let it get to this stage drinking coffee in desperation wouldn’t reduce the headaches and I would have to suffer for a day or two.

But the cravings would come back and I wouldn’t be able to resist the smell of coffee, I just had to have it or I would go nuts. Then I would drink it and go nuts. Then coffee shops started to appear on every corner and I didn’t have a chance.

Then I became a Chiropractic patient and my chiropractor suggested that I read up about coffee and find out for myself what the effects really were on my body and the weight I wanted to shed.

It took me fully understanding the effects and changing my mind. No one else was going to get me off coffee. Here are the facts:

“One cup of coffee per day is not likely to cause a significant risk, but drinking more than this one-cup maximum can interfere with your health and even your weight-loss goals.”

“Besides the increased risk of heart disease, there are two other problems. first, caffeine is a stimulant that allows you to get by with less sleep and reduces the depth of sleep. Such sleep deprivation results in higher levels of the stress hormone cortisol and interferes with glucose metabolism, leading to insulin resistance. This insulin resistance, and subsequent higher baseline glucose level, further promotes heart disease and other problems.”

The second issue is that eating more frequently and eating more food suppresses caffeine-withdrawal headaches and other withdrawal symptoms. When you are finally finished digesting the meal, the body more effectively cleasns house; at this time people experience a drive to eat more to suppress caffeine -withdrawal symptoms. You are proded to eat again, eating more food than you woulod if you were not a caffeine addict.” Joel Fuhrman, M.D. author of  “Eat to Live.”

So this is how I got off coffee. I drank one less cup per day for 9 days and then on the 10th day I drank 3/4 of a cup, next day a 1/2 cup and then a 1/4 cup and now I don’t drink any. During this time I did feel out of sorts but I ate more fruit to help my body cleanse itself of the caffeine in my body. It also took several months of resisting drinking coffee to finally bring my cravings to an end.

And with proper eating and exercise and 100 ounces of water instead of 100 ounces of coffee per day I am within 5 pounds of the weight of when I was twenty years old.

Yours in Health,

Paul Turnbull (727) 445-7842 Cell: (727) 643-8376

President, EP Management, Inc. www.expandingpractice.com

 

Leave a Reply

 
